For a better view on The Department of Vehicle and Drivers' Licensing (DVDL), Update Your Browser.

About Us

The Department of Vehicle and Drivers’ Licensing (DVDL) 

The DVDL was established under the Traffic Act with overall responsibility to:

  • Inspect and test vehicles;
  • Register motor vehicles and maintain the register;
  • Issue licences in respect of motor vehicles and drivers;
  • Conduct driving tests; and
  • Perform such other functions as may, from time to time, be prescribed.

We are a department within the Ministry of Planning, Agriculture, Housing & Infrastructure (PAHI).

There are (3) locations in Grand Cayman, our Headquarters is located at 990 Crewe Road, George Town, our West Bay branch is located at Jacques Scott Market Place, #2357 West Bay Road, and our Breakers office is at 2035 Bodden Town Road. The District Administration in Cayman Brac & Little Cayman is responsible for administering the vehicle and drivers’ licensing function in the Sister islands.

The department remains committed to its “Road Safety Initiatives” through vigorous vehicle inspections for roadworthiness; as well as being robust in conducting practical and theory driving tests to guarantee newly qualified drivers are competent.

As of December 2020 our records shows a total of 67,167 registered vehicles and 54,463 drivers licences.

Our motto is "Safe driving is everyone’s responsibility"